Sunday, September 11, 2005

September News

1. 1L REPRESENTATIVE ELECTED
Congratulations to Alison Guernsey, ILS’s new 1L Representative!

2. STUDENT PANEL: “WORKING IN HUMAN RIGHTS AND STUDYING ABROAD”
On Thursday, September 15, in Room 225 at 12:40pm, ILS will cosponsor a panel with the Iowa Campaign for Human Rights (ICHR) on “Working in Human Rights and Studying Abroad.” The panel will feature law students who have studied abroad in France, London, Madrid, Russia, etc. and worked in the area of human rights at home and abroad. This is a great way to learn about international legal opportunities available during law school.

3. “LAW IN THE AFTERMATH OF HURRICANE KATRINA”
On Thursday, September 22 at 2:15pm the College of Law will be hosting a faculty panel to discuss some of the legal implications arising out the devastation along the Gulf Coast. Currently, the panel is comprised of Professor Wing, Professor Carrasco, Professor Yin, and Professor VanderVelde. Each professor will be addressing a different legal topic, and then we will open the floor up to questions and discussion.

4. BOARD EMAILS
If you need to contact a board member, here they are:
President: Victoria Kozyr (victoria-kozyr@uiowa.edu)
Vice President: Britta Schnoor (britta-schnoor@uiowa.edu)
Secretary: Katie Verschelden (catherine-verschelden@uiowa.edu)
Treasurer: Raymond Rinkol (ray_rinkol@hotmail.com)
Publicity Chair: Brian Garfield (brian-garfield@uiowa.edu)
UICHR Chair: Tyson Wray (tyson-wray@uiowa.edu)
Symposium Chair: David Pendergast (david-pendergast@uiowa.edu)
Newsletter EIC: Megan McMillan (megan-mcmillan@uiowa.edu)
Newsletter Layout Ed.: Megan Dempsey (megan-dempsey@uiowa.edu)
Newsletter Copy Ed.: Anne De Geest (anne-degeest@uiowa.edu)

5. BLOG
http://ilsblog.blogspot.com/